ribbonMargaret Rutherford Memorial Award

Application Guidelines
Submission Form

Deadline: April 30

Given in honor of Margaret Elizabeth Rutherford, this award is available to a VAASL member in active service to be used for professional growth and development. The winner will be presented at the annual fall conference in November.  They will receive a citation and a $1000 award intended for professional development including college tuition, conferences, workshops, or other project expenses.

The candidate must not be a recipient of this identical award for the previous three years.

Application Must Include

  • A one-page letter from the applicant explaining how the award money would be used for professional development
  • Letter of recommendation from school library supervisor, district superintendent, district curriculum leader, etc.
  • Letter of recommendation from the principal, assistant principal, dean, or assistant dean with whom the applicant is currently working


Previous Recipients


Katie Breuchert


April Young

2021 Bridget Bowman
2020  unawarded
2019 Claire Bremner
2018 Michelle Sears
2017 Rachel Grover
2016 Carl Harvey
2015 Carolyn Sexton
2014 Becca Rainey
2013 Christina Comer
2008 Kimberly Sampson
2005 Barbara Stepp
2003 Patricia Rosensteel
2002 Linda Howell
2001 Kimberly Sampson