Governing Documents

VAASL operates under a Constitution and Bylaws.

Executive Board

The Executive Board is elected by the VAASL membership to include five members: President, Past-President, President-Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer. The President's each serve a three-year term beginning with President-Elect. The Secretary and Treasurer serve two-year terms. The Executive Board meets alone and with the other members of the Board of Directors.

Executive Board Members

Regional Directors

VAASL has seven geographic regions. The general membership elects one representative each year to serve a two-year term. The Regional Directors serve as voting members on the Board of Directors along with the Executive Board. The list of current Directors and Direct-Elects can be found under each region in the main menu tabs. 

Committee Chairpersons

Committee chairpersons are appointed to a one-year term by the Executive Board. They serve as non-voting members of the Board of Directors. Committee Chairpersons work with committees from around the commonwealth to accomplish specific tasks.

Affiliate Representatives

VAASL has several affiliate groups and liaisons to facilitate connections with other educational groups in Virginia. These liaisons attend Board of Directors meetings as non-voting members.