Clinch Region





Lisa Henderson Barbara Jones



Each region is represented with two votes on the Board of Directors by the Regional Director and the Regional Director-Elect. A term of office is 2 years. Each year a new Director-Elect is elected for each region by the general VAASL membership.

The main role of each position is to represent the librarians and interests of the region on the board.  The Director coordinates the Regional Spring Conference and the Director-Elect coordinates the selection of the region's School Librarian of the Year. Each director contributes content through VAASL's communication channels. Interested in joining the VAASL Board of Directors? Nominate yourself or another person for your region's Director-Elect. The ballot slate is filled each spring by the VAASL Past-President. Additionally, each summer/fall, committees are filled for the following year by the Executive Board.


The next Clinch Spring Conference isscheduled for Monday, March 4, 2019.

School Librarian of the Year

Applications for the School Librarian of the Year are due January 31st of each year. A copy of the application is available in PDF for download. Final applications are submitted online.

Previous Recipients

2018  Jessica Buchanan   2017  Virginia Hollifield   2016  Melissa Bledsoe
2015 Earlene Lester    2014 Lisa Henderson    2013 Barbara Gillespie 
2012  Jill Jessee   2011  Brenda Collins   2010  Linda Davis
2009  Marilyn Garnto   2008  Gail Gilland   2007  N/A
2006 N/A    2005  Kathleen Overbay   2004  Linda Lewis
2003  Kim Hobbs   2002  Pamela Lester   2001  Helen Barbrow


 School Districts in the Clinch Region

Virginia members belong to the region of their work location.

City Counties
Bristol Bland
Galax Buchanan
Norton Carroll