Potomac Region





Elyze Dequoy

[email protected]

Lyndsay Friedman

[email protected]



Each region is represented with two votes on the Board of Directors by the Regional Director and the Regional Director-Elect. A term of office is 2 years. Each year a new Director-Elect is elected for each region by the general VAASL membership.

The main role of each position is to represent the librarians and interests of the region on the board.  The Director coordinates the Regional Spring Conference and the Director-Elect coordinates the selection of the region's School Librarian of the Year. Each director contributes content through VAASL's communication channels. Interested in joining the VAASL Board of Directors? Nominate yourself or another person for your region's Director-Elect. The ballot slate is filled each spring by the VAASL Past-President. Additionally, each summer/fall, committees are filled for the following year by the Executive Board.


The next Potomac Spring Conference is scheduled for Saturday, March 9, 2024.


Local Affiliates

The Potomac Region has three local VAASL affiliates. Affiliates are groups of local librarians that organize to provide support for the librarians in their community.

Associated School Librarians of Fairfax County (ASLFC)

Loudoun Association of School Librarians (LASL)

Prince William School Library Association (PWSLA)

 School Librarian of the Year

Applications for the School Librarian of the Year are due January 31st of each year. A copy of the application is available in PDF for download. Final applications are submitted online.

Previous Recipients

2024   Katie Yu    2023  Rachel Grover   2022 Maura Madigan
2021   Carolyn Vibbert    2020  Heather Baucum   2019 Marcie Atkins
2018 Michele Rzewski-Copeland   2017  Rheetha Lawlor   2016 Gretchen Hazlin*
2015 Andria Donnelly*   2014 Lisa Manikas*   2013 Krista Britton
2012 Gretchen Cooley   2011 Nicole Choinier-Kroeker   2010 Paulette Miller
2009 Katherine Fitch   2008 Jill Woodall   2007 Mary Gore
2006 Miriam Cross   2005 Valerie Hillyer   2004 Kathleen Powers
2003 Debbie Griffin   2002 Stuart MacCaffray   2001 Elizabeth Johnson


*denotes state winner

 School Districts in the Potomac Region

Virginia members belong to the Region of their work location.

Alexandria City Public Schools Arlington County Public Schools Clarke County Public Schools
Culpepper County Public Schools Fairfax City Public Schools Fairfax County Public Schools
Falls Church City Public Schools Fauquier County Public Schools Frederick County Public Schools
Loudoun County Public Schools Manassas City Public Schools Manassas Park City Public Schools
Orange County Public Schools Prince William County Public Schools Rappahannock County Public Schools
Warren County Public Schools Winchester City Public Schools