James Region





Melissa Glanden Karla Collins



Each region is represented with two votes on the Board of Directors by the Regional Director and the Regional Director-Elect. A term of office is 2 years. Each year a new Director-Elect is elected for each region by the general VAASL membership.

The main role of each position is to represent the librarians and interests of the region on the board.  The Director coordinates the Regional Spring Conference and the Director-Elect coordinates the selection of the region's School Librarian of the Year. Each director contributes content through VAASL's communication channels. Interested in joining the VAASL Board of Directors? Nominate yourself or another person for your region's Director-Elect. The ballot slate is filled each spring by the VAASL Past-President. Additionally, each summer/fall, committees are filled for the following year by the Executive Board.


The next James Spring Conference is tentatively scheduled for March 2019.

 School Librarian of the Year

Applications for the School Librarian of the Year are due January 15th of each year. A copy of the application is available in PDF for download. Final applications are submitted online.

Previous Recipients

2018     2017     2016  
2015 Brook Davis    2014  Kathleen Roberts   2013 Jeannie Graham 
2012  Jen Spisak   2011  Tracy Aitken   2010  
2009  Laura Hoel   2008  Andrea Clarke   2007  Gladys Wilder
2006  John Thomas   2005  Shelor Smith & Wendy Sellors   2004  Pam Tuggle
2003  Nancy Furr   2002  Julie Tate   2001  Pam Tinsley, Kit Vaughan


 School Districts in the James Region

Virginia members belong to the Region of their work location.