York Region




Kristy Haight

[email protected]

Jennifer Clements

[email protected]



Each region is represented with two votes on the Board of Directors by the Regional Director and the Regional Director-Elect. A term of office is 2 years. Each year a new Director-Elect is elected for each region by the general VAASL membership.

The main role of each position is to represent the librarians and interests of the region on the board.  The Director coordinates the Regional Spring Conference and the Director-Elect coordinates the selection of the region's School Librarian of the Year. Each director contributes content through VAASL's communication channels. Interested in joining the VAASL Board of Directors? Nominate yourself or another person for your region's Director-Elect. The ballot slate is filled each spring by the VAASL Past-President. Additionally, each summer/fall, committees are filled for the following year by the Executive Board.

The next York Spring Conference is scheduled for Friday, March 8, 2024.


Local Affiliates

The York Region has one local VAASL affiliate. Affiliates are groups of local librarians that organize to provide support for the librarians in their community.

Virginia Beach Library Association (VBLA)

School Librarian of the Year 

Applications for the School Librarian of the Year are due January 31st of each year. A copy of the application is available in PDF for download. Final applications are submitted online.

Previous Recipients

 2024  Stephanie Baker    2023  Angela German   2022 Erin Nye
2021  Melanie Parker    2020 Heather Thomas   2019 Kellee Kraft
2018 Kristen Falk   2017 Jami Parsons   2016 Chris Tyler
2015 Elizabeth Crispino    2014 Patty Lambusta    2013 Laurie Bolt
2012 Patricia Schell   2011 Julia Cooley   2010 Christine Woods
2009 Lisa McKnight-Ward   2008 Mary Craig   2007 Christine Woods
2006 Gina Powell   2005 Bonnie Sousa   2004 Diane Capron
2003 Patti Flanary   2002 Ann Thomas   2001 Corrinne Andrews


 School Districts in the York Region

Virginia members belong to the Region of their work location.

Accomack County Public Schools Chesapeake Public Schools Emporia City Public Schools
Franklin City Public Schools Gloucester County Public Schools Greensville County Public Schools
Hampton City Schools Isle of Wright County Public Schools Newport News Public Schools
Norfolk City Public Schools  Northampton County Public Schools Poquoson City Public Schools
Portsmouth Public Schools Southampton County Public Schools Suffolk City Public Schools
Surry County Public Schools Sussex County Public Schools Virginia Beach City Public Schools
Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools York County School Division