ribbonAdministrator of the Year

Award  Guidelines
Submission Form

Deadline:  April 30

A plaque is awarded by VAASL to the administrator of a school, group of schools, or institution of higher education for supporting the development of an exemplary school library program and for making an outstanding and sustained contribution to advancing the role of the school library program as an agency for the improvement of education. Honorary life membership in VAASL and the plaque awarded will be presented at the annual fall conference. 

The candidate must not be a recipient of this identical award the previous three years.


Application Must Include

  • A letter of nomination from a VAASL member containing a statement of the nominee’s contribution toward furthering the role of the library program as well as brief biographical information of the nominee
  • Two letters of support from other persons who work with or for the nominee

 Previous Recipients


Dr. Michael Jackson


Virginia Gills

2021 Andrew Davis
2020 Janice Herritt
2019 Neil Beech
2018  Janelle Spitz
2017  Lindsay Mottley
2016  Not awarded
2015 Dr. John Wheeler
2014 James Dallas
2013 Donald Latham
2012 Dr. Patrick Stanfield
2011 Gary Painter
2010 Gina Stetter
2009 Karen Thomsen
2008 Michael Dorman
2006 Patrick McClintock-Comeaux
2005 Dr. Lynn Thorpe
2004 Dr. Donald Stowers
2003 M. Basil Furr, Jr.
2002 Karen Whetzel
2001 C. Rodney Clemmons