School Library Educator Award

Award  Guidelines
Submission Form

Deadline: April 30

A plaque is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions in developing school library programs and for professional leadership in the field of school librarianship. The winner will be presented at the annual fall conference in November. 

The candidate must not be a recipient of this identical award the previous three years.

Application Must Include

  • A letter of nomination from a VAASL member to include: A statement of the nominee's qualifications and accomplishments in developing educational school library and technology programs and for professional leadership in the field. Also include brief biographical information of the nominee.
  • Two letters of support from other persons who work with or for the nominee


Previous Recipients

2021 Dr. Elizabeth Burns
2019 Karla Collins
2018 Krista Hartenbach
2012 Cheryl Grobel
2008 Dr. Rebecca Austin
2007 Frances Reeve
2006 Beverly Abdus-Sabur
2005 Lizette Hannegan
2004 Audrey Church
2003 Charlie Makela
2001 Linda Bendall