ribbonSchool Librarian of the Year Award

Award Application Guidelines
School Librarian of the Year Award Application
School Librarian of the Year Submission Form

Deadline: January 31

This award recognizes outstanding Virginia school librarians.


Nominations are no longer required for the Librarian of the Year. If you would like to nominate your librarian for this honor, please read the Award Application Guidelines and write a letter of support for the candidate to include with their application. You should talk to your librarian personally to share your letter and encourage them to pursue the application process.

Regional Recipient

The Regional Winner of the School Librarian of the Year will be announced at each region's Spring Conference. A plaque will be awarded at that time, and the winner’s Annual Conference registration and banquet fee will be paid by VAASL.

Final Winner

Winners from each of VAASL's seven regions are the candidates for the state School Librarian of the Year. An updated application with all information, indicating contributions and accomplishments in the field, should be sent to the Scholarships and Awards Committee Chair. The winner will be honored at the Annual Conference Awards Banquet and will receive an engraved crystal award, and $500.00 for professional development.


All nominees must be VAASL members.

Application Must Include

  • A completed application form including a brief resume and list of professional accomplishments
  • Three letters of recommendation: one from a principal or direct supervisor, and two letters of the applicant's choice
  • A narrative speaking to your work as teacher, instructional partner, leader, information specialist, and program administrator


The Regional Director-Elect will choose a panel to evaluate the nominees and select a winner. These panel members will not be connected with any of the nominees, and could be selected from local universities, retirees, or from the public library system.

Previous Recipients

2018 Lara Ivey
2017 Nathan Sekinger
2016  Gretchen Hazlin
2015  Andria Donnelly
2014 Lisa Manikas
2013 Jeannie Graham
2012 Jen Spisak
2011 Tracy Aitken
2010 Kathy Meredith
2009  Marilyn Garnto
2008  Andrea Clarke
2007  Tammie Grayson
2006  Martha Baden
2005  Shelor Smith & Wendy Sellors
2004  Diane Capron
2003  Debbie Griffin
2002  Julie Tate
2001  Audrey Mitchell