ribbonSchool Librarian of the Year Award

Guidelines and Rubric
Submission Form

Deadline: January 31

This award recognizes outstanding Virginia school librarians.


Nominations are no longer required for the Librarian of the Year. If you would like to nominate your librarian for this honor, please read the Award Application Guidelines and write a letter of support for the candidate to include with their application. You should talk to your librarian personally to share your letter and encourage them to pursue the application process.

Regional Recipient

The Regional Winner of the School Librarian of the Year will be announced at each region's Spring Conference. A plaque will be awarded at that time, and the winner’s Annual Conference registration and banquet fee will be paid by VAASL.

Final Winner

Winners from each of VAASL's seven regions are the candidates for the state School Librarian of the Year. An updated application with all information, indicating contributions and accomplishments in the field, should be sent to the Scholarships and Awards Committee Chair. The winner will be honored at the annual conference and will receive an engraved crystal award along with $500.00 for professional development.


All nominees must be VAASL members.

Application Must Include

  • A completed application form including a brief resume and list of professional accomplishments
  • Three letters of recommendation: one from a principal or direct supervisor, and two letters of the applicant's choice
  • A narrative speaking to your work as a teacher, instructional partner, leader, information specialist, and program administrator


The Regional Director-Elect will choose a panel to evaluate the nominees and select a winner. These panel members will not be connected with any of the nominees and could be selected from local universities, retirees, or from the public library system.



Previous Recipients

2023 Rachel Grover
2022 Kristin Thrower
2021 Kelly Passek
2020 Katie Kier
2019 Ida Mae Craddock
2018 Lara Ivey
2017 Nathan Sekinger
2016 Gretchen Hazlin
2015 Andria Donnelly
2014 Lisa Manikas
2013 Jeannie Graham
2012 Jen Spisak
2011 Tracy Aitken
2010 Kathy Meredith
2009 Marilyn Garnto
2008 Andrea Clarke
2007 Tammie Grayson
2006 Martha Baden
2005 Shelor Smith & Wendy Sellors
2004 Diane Capron
2003 Debbie Griffin
2002 Julie Tate
2001 Audrey Mitchell